Laurelhurst Elementary

Get Involved

Building Leadership Team

The primary function of the Building Leadership Team (BLT) is to promote and facilitate the collaborative decision-making process which affects academic achievement and to identify how to support the needs of students and staff at Laurelhurst.


The BLT is to work on the Comprehensive School Improvement Plan (CSIP) , the School Budget, and Professional Development (PD). In addition the BLT will work toward consensus building in the school community; to set goals and implement plans that provide for family, staff, community and student involvement in appropriate aspects of school functioning; to communicate to the staff and parents suggestions and/or policy regarding the philosophy and focus of the instructional program, allowing the staff to plan final implementation steps; and to consider suggestions and concerns of the staff and parents in order to aid and advance the goals of Laurelhurst Elementary. For detailed information regarding the BLT, please refer to the BLT Bylaws

Guiding Principle:

The BLT pledges its commitment to work for the good of all students, staff, families & community. The BLT shall at all times respect the confidentiality of students, staff and parents in the conduct of its business. In order to function at the highest level of professionalism, mutual trust and collegiality must exist among the school staff, parent community and the BLT.

Decision Making:

BLT committee members are responsible for gathering input from and representing their constituents in the best interest of the school as a whole. Members serve staggered two-year terms. The committee acts as an advisory body that makes recommendations to the Principal or Teachers for final approval. The BLT follows the uses the Laurelhurst  Decision Making Process and the District Decision Making Matrix

2022-23 Committee Members:

  • Ms. Anderson, Primary Rep 2nd year
  • Ms. Tutt, Intermediate Rep 2nd year
  • Mr. Brown, Specialist Rep 3rd year
  • Mr. Snyder, Principal

Non-Voting Members:

  • Krysta French, PTA Rep 2nd year